ThinkB4YouSpeak

by Brooke Winebrenner

While watching television, 9 times out of 10 the commercials I am subjected to are simply forgotten before my show begins again. I am sure this is true for most people, but today I was caught off guard by the PSA I saw on the ThinkB4YouSpeak campaign that focuses on the harmful words “that’s so gay.” I found out this campaign was launched almost a year ago in 2008 and was surprised I hadn’t seen the commercial before now. Seeing it today definitely stood out to me, not only because of the message behind it, but also because I was having this very conversation the day before with a friend.

The ad features two teenage girls shopping in a store trying on clothes. One girl asks the other about her top and her friend responds, “that’s so gay”. Singer/Actress Hilary Duff overhears the conversation and comes back with a witty comment that puts into perspective how using words that you are trying to convey as stupid or dumb, that are not politically correct or truly represent what you are trying to say, shouldn’t be used.

I thought this was an interesting campaign produced by the Gay, Lesbian, Straight Education Network (GLSEN) and the Ad Council. The ThinkB4YouSpeak website sends the message that 9 out of 10 lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (GLBT) students report being harassed at school in the last year. The GLSEN hopes the campaign will raise awareness and create a safe environment for all students-LGBT and straight alike, which begins with one simple act: thinking before you speak.

The site also allows viewers to get involved in several ways by signing a pledge, submitting a video asking you to share your story or a message that portrays a unique way of telling people not to use the words “that’s so gay.” You can also send an e-card, become a fan of the GLSEN on Facebook and follow them on twitter.

I think this is a great start to get people thinking about what they are saying, but I can remember being a teenager and we all know how we can throw words around so easily at that age. I can honestly say I am guilty of this act even today.

I am not proud of my actions, but from time to time I say, “that’s so gay”. Not because I am trying to degrade a GLBT person, but simply because it has carelessly made it’s way into my vocabulary and everyone else’s over the years.

I also have a personal story that has always stuck with me, so I figure I should go ahead and share it. It happened one day while I was working at my first job in high school, which was the first time in life I think I had been exposed to various types of people—including a gay guy who I had become friends with. I was in mid conversation with my gay friend and all of a sudden I remarked with the ignorant comment “that’s so gay.” I stopped and looked at him in shock—so embarrassed and mad at myself for commenting on something I meant was stupid, with the type of person he represented. Foot in mouth is what I was thinking, but he so kindly turned my comment into a joke saying “yea that is gay.” We laughed about it and went on our way, but I was so embarrassed about my stupidity and how I would have felt if I was the gay person and people made that statement around me all of the time.

I think people all over the world need to think before they speak about a lot of things. Maybe this campaign will open our minds to the idea of a thoughtful place where we stop putting things and other people down. I am making my own pledge to make a conscious effort to stop using damaging language. And from now on when you are thinking something is dumb or stupid, if you go to comment on it, fill-in-the-blank with your name.

“That’s so Brooke.” Now how much sense does that make? Great point ThinkB4YouSpeak!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “ThinkB4YouSpeak

  1. Mary Beth

    Brooke, you are SO right. Mr. Cassady won’t let his students say “that’s so gay” or anything using gay in a negative way. People (true, even myself) say it all of the time, and don’t stop to think about what they are actually saying. Back in the day, “gay” used to mean “really happy.” That’s what gay people should be, and we don’t give them a chance in the world. I’m going to pass this commercial on. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment